LB turns 2!

31 10 2011

Another birthday party has come and gone!  This time I adhered to the “1 friend per year of age” rule, so it was a small party.  We considered not even having one, but felt that LB might look back and be all upset that he didn’t have a 2nd birthday party, so now he will just have to be mad at us for something else.  I decided pinterest would be a good place to look for party ideas, and I think that was almost a mistake, because there are TOO MANY ideas, but this is what I came up with.  The theme was Sesame Street, so I made LB a birthday shirt:

IMG_4854

It was simple but took a long time, especially since after stitching down the felt eyes I went to snip the threads and snipped the shirt too!  Moral of the story, don’t sew when you’re tired.  I managed to avoid Party City entirely, which was pretty exciting for me, because hey, one less trip!  I made these little favor bags:

IMG_4852

And came up with some cutesy theme food:

IMG_4856

IMG_4859

IMG_4860

As I was doing this, I was aware that none of the children attending the party can read and none of the adults probably care if the food is Sesame Street themed.  Heck, I don’t think the kids even ate the food, but boy did they love the juice boxes!  I found themed games on pinterest too, but opted against organized games.  The kids had plenty of fun, and even though he didn’t eat the cake, the expression on LB’s face when the whole cake was set in front of him (with FIRE on it!) was priceless!

IMG_4886

Happy birthday, little one!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 01 2012
Soraya

I LOVE all that you did! You are so crafty. 🙂 I’m doing the same thing for Nora’s party! Where did you get the labels for the food? And what was all the themed food, if you don’t mind my asking!

9 01 2012
shesaserging

Thanks Soraya! Sesame Street is such a fun theme for little ones. I’ll email you all my planning stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

