Another spring top

10 10 2011

I finally got back to sewing last week after a summer hiatus.  I had all this great (cheap) fabric I bought back in May, and a stack of patterns to make some more spring/summer tops after the inspiration hit hard during Spring Top Week.  So… here it is, my spring top, just in time for winter, hahahahahaha!

2011 10 October

*sigh.*

It was my attempt to make a shirt like this one, and aside from the fact that I forgot to put in the ties, I thought it turned out pretty similar.  In the end, I convinced myself that it’s better not to have things hanging off my shirt anyway; really, that’s just an invitation to be grabbed at by little hands and dragged around like a dog on a leash.  :p

I had to alter the pattern (Simplicity 2599) pretty substantially.  I’d never made it before, and according to the measurements I should have made a size 14-18.  Well, I’m pretty solid, but come on!  My pattern only went up to 12, so I cut that one, and it was like a tent, so I made some alterations to bring it in at the waist. 

I waffle between liking it and thinking it looks like a clown shirt.  So, if you know me, you might or might not ever see me wear it out in public, I can’t decide.  Speaking of waffles, we made these sourdough waffles today and they were so good!  Mmmmmmmm……waffles…..

Actions

Information

One response

14 04 2012
Time for spring tops! « Domestic Engineering

[…] than Simplicity 2599, which I bought last year for this same occasion (but didn’t actually make till the fall).  Plus I got to rummage through my mom’s old sewing box for needles and thread and I found […]

Leave a Reply

