On vacation

3 06 2011

It’s been awhile… I have not been sitting around twiddling my thumbs, but with my newfound enthusiasm for sewing for myself I have run up against some challenges. One, as I mentioned before, is that I don’t have my camera. Another is that it’s hard to get pictures of myself! So here I am now on vacation in sunny Phoenix, thinking I should try out this new wordpress app on the iPod, especially since it is my camera for now anyway. It’s crazy exciting to come to a real city that has stores like the SAS fabric superstore, an amazingly huge warehouse of fabric. I was in heaven!

20110602-095006.jpg
Even BB enjoyed it, at least for the first half hour or so.

20110602-095123.jpg
So I bought a bunch of fabric, I figure it’s about a third the price of fabric at Joann. Some linen, some gauze, some knits, I was actually hoping to find more knits, some solids or something for the boys, but no such luck.
I made the shirt in the picture, it’s a McCall pattern but I don’t know the number off the top of my head. I decided to scrap pattern drafting for now and get more practice sewing for myself using commercial patterns first. I’m pretty happy with it and might try it out in the gauze I just bought, I think it would look a lot better, more drapey. That said, the fabric for this wearable muslin was $1/yard, and I love the print, so overall I am pretty happy with it!

20110602-100050.jpg
It’s hard to get a picture of myself, I took several shots, and in the end I think it’s a much better pic with LB in it, even if he obscures the shirt!
Now back to my Hiaasen paperback and dreaming of things to do with my new fabric…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

