Self-drafted shirts

26 03 2011

Even though I kind of ran out of steam for CTB, all-boy, all the time, I picked up sewing for myself with even greater enthusiasm.  If my posts have been sparse, it is only because my free time has been completely consumed by going through the Design-it-Yourself Clothes book and working on projects from it.  And combing the web looking for ideas for more projects.  Here they are, in all their glory, the first 3 shirts I made from self-drafted patterns!  They are just muslins (like practice shirts), made from a jersey sheet, nothing fancy.  I’m really happy with the fit though, so I might cut into some nicer fabric soon.  The basic T pattern:

IMG_3416_edited-1

The next variation, the Charlotte T:

IMG_3417_edited-1

(Please forgive the goofy pictures, these are the best I could do with the self timer.)  And finally, a V-neck T, my first attempt at altering a pattern, based on instructions at Sew Chicken:

IMG_3422_edited-1

Heehee, still need to hem that one, oops!  I was too excited to try it on.  Actually I made it largely to practice my hand at ruffle-making for another project, to come another day!  I am having a great time sewing for myself, having decided that if I want to sew anything “girly”, this is essentially my only choice.  Plus, I hate clothes shopping and I love fabric shopping, so it should be a lot of fun making some of my own clothes!  And I figure even if they’re not perfect that (1) in the 9 months of winter we have here, nobody will notice the imperfect clothing underneath my fleece jacket, which I am never without, and (2) really, it would be hard for my handmade (not homemade) clothes to be much worse than what I already wear.  I am thankful every day that the people of “What Not to Wear” do not stop me on the street.  So, a fun new set of projects are piling up in my mind faster than I can complete them, or even start on them!  Hopefully I will get a few more done to show off in the coming weeks.  Thanks for visiting!

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 03 2011
robyn

Wow, Monica! Those all look great and the V-neck shirt is especially impressive.

27 03 2011
shesaserging

Thanks Robyn! 🙂

9 05 2011
Michelle Cheuk

I love the V-neck. Does it open up for nursing access, or is it fake and just looks that way?

9 05 2011
shesaserging

It’s not made with nursing in mind, but the v-neck does sort of flap open, so maybe it would be good for that…personally my bigger problem is keeping everything covered, haha, so I’m thinking of putting a little stitch in the V to keep it shut.

Leave a Reply

