Refashioned Raglans

24 02 2011

Nothing fancy today, just a few shirts I have finished up this week for Celebrate the Boy!  I’m continuing to raid the giant box of old t-shirts I have retired. The pattern is the Patrick Raglan, which at first I thought was too complicated but now I can crank out in no time, and I really like the look.  Before:

IMG_3257IMG_3258

LB gets plain white and grey (left), BB gets an old favorite of mine (and his), my “Free Cookies” shirt I got for donating blood ages ago.  LB’s shirt was sort of plain so I decided to try some decorative serging on the outside, and did a freezer paper stencil of a car, his favorite thing in the world:

IMG_3287IMG_3286

I think he likes it!

IMG_3309

Here is BB’s shirt:

IMG_3283

Arrrgh, the neckline got puckered when I was sewing on the collar!  I didn’t see any good way to fix it so I just figured (1) BB would never notice and (2) it would probably be less noticeable when worn, which I think is sort of true.  A modeling shot:

IMG_3304

I got these pictures first thing in the morning; I was so excited to try them on the kids.  Wouldn’t you know, by lunchtime they had both managed to stain them.  BB with blood (aack!) and LB with jam and poo (ugh! ick!).  As much as I loved the ideas for dressing up your little man on Made today, looking them over the outfits are $50-$100 apiece and it’s hard to justify that, no matter how adorable it is, when you know the outfit will be dirty (and possibly ruined) by midday.  Maybe my kids are messier than most?  Or maybe they’re just BOYS!  Anyway, it’s a nice feeling to make them an outfit that looks OK and that they like, and it was made of FREE materials, so when they bleed on it (*sigh*) you don’t have to panic about it!  (Well, maybe panic about the bleeding, but at least you don’t have to worry about the shirt.)

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 02 2011
Kim

Great shirts!! Raglans are so classic. I agree with you, my boys are way messy too. We always keep the stain treatments handy.

27 02 2011
shesaserging

Thanks! I’m glad it’s not just me. The Free Cookies shirt just came out of the wash hopelessly stained…arrgh!

25 02 2011
Rachel

I saw the VW tee on Flickr, and had to stop over. It is really cute!

27 02 2011
shesaserging

Thanks Rachel! I spent forever cutting the stencil, and I was happy with the payoff… probably spent longer on that than making the shirt!

Leave a Reply

