Hoodie-mania

11 08 2010

Once again, I am behind in blogging my projects… all that pesky sleeping and whatnot gets in the way sometimes.  Anyway, in the midst of feeling frustrated about the lack of good patterns for boys, I bought the Lil Blue Boo Hoodie pattern, since it was the only one on You Can Make This that actually caught my eye.  It’s made using old shirts!  That’s perfect because I have a million old shirts that are embarrassing to wear!  And yet… I made my first draft out of fleece just to see if the sizing was good, you know, before I cut into my old t-shirts.  They are full of memories, in addition to stains and holes, after all.  And thanks to the generosity of a friend, I have a bolt of nice microfleece.  Here it is:

August

I modified it a whole lot, but left the size unaltered and was happy to find that 4T was very true to size.  Since I was not using old shirts, I had to solve my raw edge dilemma, and I hate hemming with a passion so I used cuffs of ribbing (a la 90 minute shirt, which I still have not made).  I also did a lined hood, working on using up those pajama-esque prints.  I’m pretty happy with it, but when I make the matching one for LB (matching outfits are always on my to-do list), I am going to try making a placket for the first time.  I didn’t even know what it was called, but Google has helped me out, and I’ll be giving it a try soon…

But still, I couldn’t quite cut into my shirts.  I actually went out and bought old t-shirts to try it again.  (Yes, my husband gave me a hard time about this.  Plus somehow I didn’t think a Girl Scouts or polymer science club shirt would be that great for a little boy.)  I bought 3 shirts and barely eked out 2 hoodies, one in 18 month and one 4T.

August1

You almost can’t tell, but the orange one is the smaller one.  I had plans to dress it up a little, maybe some freezer paper stenciling, but I haven’t decided yet.  In the meantime I like it how it is.  I even broke out my double needle for the topstitching!  Fancy, eh?  I thought the Sesame street shirt would be fun for BB, but in the end I’m not crazy about it.  Ah well, it fits.  And it might look better if it wasn’t totally wrinkled…unfortunately I only iron while sewing.  🙂

One final unrelated thought.  The only thing I am growing with any success this year (besides crabgrass) is an upside down grape tomato plant.  It’s looking great!  Sadly, we are going out of town in a few days and I suspect our tomatoes will ripen while we are gone.  If the plant doesn’t die, that is.  What poor timing!

IMG_2322

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 08 2010
robyn

What?!?! Polymer Science Club-themed shirts are a hit for all ages. My dad would love one! Those hoodies look great, Monica. I have a few sewing projects to complete first, but I might try those soon.

19 09 2010
Kids Clothes Week Challenge « Domestic Engineering

[…] Making more hoodies […]

Leave a Reply

