Spring has sprouted…

8 04 2010

We live in upstate New York, and every year I have dutifully waited until the last frost date to start planting the garden.  Well, our last frost date is May 20th.  May 20th!  Can you believe it?  In the 3 years we’ve lived here, there has never been a frost that late though, so I’m always kicking myself for not getting an earlier start.  If I’m lucky, I get tomatoes by September and they keep coming till the first frost, which is usually in late September/early October.

Well, not this year.  This year I have an eager garden helper and we have already started broccoli and tomatoes indoors, in the hopes of getting a head start on the growing season.  Cute, aren’t they?  BB would give them kisses all day long if I didn’t move them out of reach.  He’s a very sweet boy.  He helped me with the planting.

We were having such fun with sprouts that I decided to get a sprouting jar and grow sprouts for eating, since BB had expressed interest in eating the little sprouts.  It worked wonderfully!

so many sprouts!

I love sprouts on sandwiches and salads, so this was a fun and economical way to get them.  We watched them grow from just 1.5 tablespoons of seeds into a whole quart of sprouts!  I told BB they were for dessert and he happily ate them.  Hahaha!  (I did too, by the way, lest you think I’m mean.)  I have to say, a quart was a little too much.  I felt like I was eating sprouts non-stop for days, so next time I will probably sprout less.  I guess I didn’t really believe that such a small amount of seed would fill the whole jar!

Mmmmm.... sprouty sandwich...

I can’t wait to get out and start planting the garden.  I will probably throw caution to the wind and get started before May 20th!  However, given our less than stellar garden production in years past (it’s heavily shaded, in addition to being started late), I have joined a CSA this year and I’m super excited to get fresh veggies all summer, and try new ones too.  Plus I think it will be really fun for the boys to go and see the farm where their food is growing… heck, it will be fun for me too!

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 04 2010
Stacey

Are we like kindred spirits or something?? I love our CSA!! And you MUST tell me how to grow those sprouts – I ADORE sprouts on a good sandwich!!!

Also, we are going to do tomatoes starting next week – and should have fruit from it all summer. We shall see. 🙂

Good luck with your garden!

11 04 2010
shesaserging

Thanks Stacey! I need all the luck I can get with that garden! 😉

The sprout jar was an impulse buy at the local natural foods store. It’s called Sprout Ease Econo-Sprouter Toppers, and for the life of me I can’t anything about it online, but there are lots of other sprouting jars available if you search. It couldn’t be easier–you just put seeds in, put the lid on (it’s a screen), rinse them twice a day, and voila! Sprouts!

Good luck with your garden too; I wish I had your climate! 🙂

17 04 2010
irene

I love the idea of joining a CSA; hopefully some time this summer we can go with you to the farm…

Leave a Reply

